2024 Young Georgia Author Writing Winners

Colquitt County School District is pleased to announce the district competition winners for the Young Georgia Authors Writing Competition.  The district winners will advance to the Regional Young Georgia Authors Writing Competition. The purpose of the Young Georgia Authors (YGA) writing competition is to encourage students to develop an enthusiasm for and expertise in their writing, to provide a context to celebrate their writing successes, and to recognize student achievement in arts and academics.  This prestigious competition has engaged Georgia students for over two decades and is open to any student currently enrolled in Georgia public schools, grades K-12.  The competition is sponsored by the Georgia Language Arts Supervisors (GLAS) and the Georgia RESA Network with support from the Georgia Department of Education.   


GradeSchoolStudentTitle of Work
KindergartenOkapilco ElementaryCristian CarioWild Adventures
1st GradeNorman Park ElementaryWyatt MassaroDragons
2nd GradeNorman Park ElementaryIla Jane ThompsonLemonade on Valentine’s
3rd GradeNorman Park ElementaryMadelyn GriffinThey Mythical Forest
4th GradeDoerun ElementaryBrooklyn NowlandThe Shark Attack
5th GradeR. B. Wright ElementaryTaylor Mae ThompsonThe Frozen Survival





This site provides information using PDF, visit this link to download the Adobe Acrobat Reader DC software.